The Tattersall Farm offers 19th century plantings, working hayfields, rolling meadows and wooded paths used for walking, jogging, and cross-country skiing. The Tattersall Farm was owned and operated by the Tattersall Family for a substantial portion of the twentieth century. The family’s 150 acre farm was entrusted to the City of Haverhill, imposing specific conservation and open space preservation restrictions to this gift so that the Tattersall Farm would be preserved and maintained in as close to its present state of condition as possible. The farm also protects its wildlife and conservation interests, and is used to inform and educate people on matters relating to farming and environmental conservation.
Winnekenni Castle and its park are a hidden jewel popular with residents of the local communities, and tourists from all over the country. The Castle plays host to private parties such as weddings, bridal showers and corporate meetings, to public performances ranging from Shakespeare to Blues Jams, Chowder cook off competitions and all kinds of fantastic family fun activities.
In 1688, in a small pleasant valley under the shoulder of Job’s Hill, Thomas Whittier built the house which was to be the Whittier family home for five generations. Located on its original site, the Birthplace is substantially the same as when the poet lived there from 1807 until 1836. A trail guide available at the Birthplace and the Haverhill Public Library features a driving tour of Haverhill and other sites associated with Whittier and his poems.
Haverhill Firefighting Museum
Come experience the Evolution of New England Firefighting History at the Haverhill Firefighting Museum, home to one of the largest collections of New England Firefighting History in New England. Over a span of two hundred and eighty years–since 1671, when Haverhill’s historians first started keeping records of disasters and other phenomena, Haverhill has experienced fires and conflagrations, train wrecks and plane crashes, freshets and floods, gales and hurricanes, twisters and tornadoes, blizzards and hailstorms, tremors and earthquakes, drought, “dark days,” and meteorites. Many have been responsible for property loss and/or loss of life. But the two major disasters that stand out in the city of Haverhill’s annals are the conflagration of 1882, which nearly obliterated Haverhill’s shoe industry and took a fire fighters life, and the flood of 1936 where 636 families, and 549 buildings in Haverhill were affected.
The Buttonwoods Museum is an historic site overlooking the Merrimack River. From Native American settlement to the present, the Buttonwoods Museum tells the story of life in the Merrimack Valley. Visit the John Ward House, the Duncan House and the Daniel Hunkins Shoe Shop. Experience our hands-on education and outreach programs that make this unique history come alive for people of all ages.